The place for general discussions and requests for help on all matters relating to T gauge.
chadnn

Post by chadnn »

Hi All,

As the title says I'm new to T gauge so will be coming here with questions. I'd like to thank Martink for all the help he has given me so far.

Due to downsizing I'm moving from N to T. Will be ordering things in the next few days as soon as I have decided on which layout I'm going to use. Want to be sure to buy enough track :) . One question I have now is about the PWM (the blue box), would a mobile phone charger ( 5V, 2.1A) work as a power supply?

Looking forward to the new gauge and learning more on this forum.

Chad

dkightley

Re: Newbie

Post by dkightley »

Hi Chad

Welcome to t Gauge and to the Talking T Gauge forum.......

To answer you question......seeing as there's a commercial USB to PWM cable available then someone does not anticipate the power demand on the supply to be greater than 0.5A at 5v. (The spec for USB 2 has a max current specified at 0.5A, and 0.9A for USB3 ). And from my own experience, a power car motor consumes very little current. I've had a set of rechargeable batteries last several hour powering three power cars in one stint.

So....I would think that a power supply that is definitely 5v DC (not AC!!) with a current rating of 1.5A will be perfectly suited to powering a PWM.

And regarding your proposed layout....you are hereby instructed to start a thread in the Layout section giving full details of your plans. ;) ;) ;) ;) ;)
Doug Kightley
Webmaster here and volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk

chadnn

Post by chadnn »

It is 5 VDC but 2.1 A not 1.5 A so.......

Reith01

Post by Reith01 »

chadnn wrote:It is 5 VDC but 2.1 A not 1.5 A so.......
That'll work - problems happen when it's underpowered.

Good luck. Make sure your track is absolutely even!!

:)

dkightley

Post by dkightley »

How on earth did I manage to change 2.1 into 1.5??? :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: