dcc (again) tiny decoder.

The place for general discussions and requests for help on all matters relating to T gauge.
Reith01
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 3:34 pm
Location: Sussex.

Re: dcc (again) tiny decoder.

Post by Reith01 »

Ozrail wrote:Maybe one day Someone will develop a Decoder chip so tiny, it can fit on a paperthin circuit board like this one. http://www.bestpcbs.com/products/extra-thin-pcb.htm
And it can simple sit flat on the top of the motorised chassis where the electrical straps are.
That's interesting because my son recently did some work on the dash of a Mk 2 VW Golf and the circuit was printed on what appears to be polythene or something similar, guessing a little less than 0.5mm thick, wrapped around the internals of the panel. And that was from, what, the late 1980s, so it can be done. Just a matter of time.

PetrOs
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 4:24 pm

Re: dcc (again) tiny decoder.

Post by PetrOs »

Hi,

I just joined, and i plan to order my first test T gauge train tonight, class 125 from tgauge.com. I am going downscale from TT gauge, and plan to run the same DCC equipment as now (either Roco or selfmade Pc serial adaptor) with selfdesigned arduino boards driving servos and lights. I also ordered a pair of dcx77 decoders. I will try to post my results here - the thread was highly motivating for me, digital is a must for me - I am an IT geek :)

caitlin
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 4:58 pm

Re: dcc (again) tiny decoder.

Post by caitlin »

I'm baaaaaaaaack.
I stuck a single bit of track into the sprog3, stuck that in my laptop, installed JMRI, got confused for a bit. Pressed some buttons anyway.
blit blit blit and my test rig engine and the one I managed to build with the going forwards and going backwards lights both fired up and moved under throttle.
Hopefully the frustration that drove me away is gone for a good bit and I can press on with making a DCC tguage two train layout after all.
Wish me luck?

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 1249
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 9:43 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK

Re: dcc (again) tiny decoder.

Post by dkightley »

Sounds good....

Don't forget to dial in some acceleration/deceleration characteristics into the decoder.

I have an oval test track about 12in x 18in and have set the speed at max throttle so the power cars runs round at a too-fast speed.....but not at a "rat out of a trap" lightning speed!! I've also dialed in a deceleration that stops a power unit in about two circuits of my test track from full whack!

This makes the units very docile and gives the appearance of a train......not a hypersonic millipede!
Doug Kightley
Webmaster here and volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk

Post Reply