Conway and the Bridges

Post details of your T gauge layouts and the progress you are making.
gbtrains
Posts: 302
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 6:21 pm

Conway and the Bridges

Post by gbtrains »

hi there

I have just printed out the basic concept on all three bridges of the Conway bridges and may decide to do the castle in 3d print as well.
Lets hope I can do this layout.
I will you posted.

:D





regards
Graham
Attachments
conway Bridges-03.jpg
conway Bridges-03.jpg (1.81 MiB) Viewed 1014 times
conway Bridges-02.jpg
conway Bridges-02.jpg (1.55 MiB) Viewed 1014 times
conway Bridges-01.jpg
conway Bridges-01.jpg (1.73 MiB) Viewed 1014 times
T Gauge Conway Railway Bridge Ent.JPG
T Gauge Conway Railway Bridge Ent.JPG (1.73 MiB) Viewed 1014 times

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 1247
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 9:43 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK

Re: Conway and the Bridges

Post by dkightley »

Absolutely brilliant, Graham.

I look forward to seeing this layout progress.......
Doug Kightley
Webmaster here and volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk

gbtrains
Posts: 302
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 6:21 pm

Re: Conway and the Bridges

Post by gbtrains »

Hi Doug
Just started ,but I am sure that I can build the Conway castle in 3d.
Hopefully I can have the station on as well ,so quite a wierd layout shape then as the railway wraps around the from the bridge to the back of the castle then into the station.

May need some of your 3d houses I guess.

Will keep you all upto date.

Graham

zdrada69
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 10:38 pm

Re: Conway and the Bridges

Post by zdrada69 »

Those bridges look really good. Congratulations.

martink
Posts: 262
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 3:13 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Conway and the Bridges

Post by martink »

Looking good. It is a shame the Lilliput Lane's model of Conwy Castle is about 1:600 scale, or it would make the next part a lot easier!

gbtrains
Posts: 302
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 6:21 pm

Re: Conway and the Bridges

Post by gbtrains »

Hi there
Made a start on the model in 3d modeller LWO but finding it difficult but like most things it will come to me.
I have got a flat plan of the castle in a scale, so using that as a starting point.
Need to get light now for the road bridge and start on the how I am going to build the layout.

still in this gauge its where to place your layouts (the same old questions).

Will keep you all posted.
ps not fully done the paiting on the bridges and not placed trackwork in the railway bridge which I will do by using a thin sheet of plastic and gluing my track on it , then slide it inside both sections.

Regards
Graham

User avatar
Nutter
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: S E London

Re: Conway and the Bridges

Post by Nutter »

Graham, sorry to be the purveyor of sod's law, have you considered derailments in the rail bridge?
Even the best laid plans and track have this happen usually when you don't want it.
Mike
DON'T knock it at least I am trying to do something, with only one good hand.

gbtrains
Posts: 302
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 6:21 pm

Re: Conway and the Bridges

Post by gbtrains »

Hi there

"Dam". thanks for that .did not think for that event, but could easrly cut the tops off or make it in drop out sections.

Thank you for asking about that, as you see it is always best just to post on what you have as at least I have not yet placed and glued (close shave there then-LOL). :D

Will keep you posted on what I will do about the derailment event.

ps any views on how I should re make the rail bridge then?

Best Regards
Graham

gbtrains
Posts: 302
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 6:21 pm

Re: Conway and the Bridges

Post by gbtrains »

Hi there

up date on the derailment event in the railway bridge.

A new machine has been discoverd by my wife, it is called the K.N.D.R.A. this machine will push the whole train out from either end of the entrances.

please pictures below to understand what is the K.N.D.R.A.





Knitting Needle Derailment Assistant
:idea:

Regards
Graham
Attachments
KNDRA unit (2).JPG
KNDRA unit (2).JPG (1.92 MiB) Viewed 1014 times

User avatar
Nutter
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: S E London

Re: Conway and the Bridges

Post by Nutter »

Better to sort out the potential problems before the construction starts. :D
I must admit I would have cheated and had the top section removable- also as an aid to track cleaning.
Mike
DON'T knock it at least I am trying to do something, with only one good hand.

gbtrains
Posts: 302
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 6:21 pm

Re: Conway and the Bridges

Post by gbtrains »

Re working top section of bridge to come off.glad the first ones are demos then(LOL)

Regards
Graham

msimister
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2015 6:18 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Conway and the Bridges

Post by msimister »

While I'm no expert, I'd make the it so the sides and top are one unit that can be lifted off. But I assume that was what was meant. Incidentally, I went to Conwy for the first time earlier this year. The bridges, castle and river will make a brilliant model. Looking forward to seeing more.

gbtrains
Posts: 302
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 6:21 pm

Re: Conway and the Bridges

Post by gbtrains »

Hi

I have re done the brodge so that the tops can be taken off now so may have to build a bit different for the End modules.

Will keep you all upto date.
:D

regards
Graham
Attachments
T Gauge Conway Rail Bridge everting D.jpg
T Gauge Conway Rail Bridge everting D.jpg (206.27 KiB) Viewed 1032 times

gbtrains
Posts: 302
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 6:21 pm

Re: Conway and the Bridges

Post by gbtrains »

Just another update on progress

Here are some picts of where and what I am trying to do .
will need to build the castle next :lol: .

will keep you all informed.


ps If anybody wants the Bridge Gable Ends then I can do them for around £20.00 thats with P+P as Shapeways have done my model at £40 ish pounds?


Graham
Attachments
conway Rail Bridge End Gables.jpg
conway Rail Bridge End Gables.jpg (97.97 KiB) Viewed 1032 times
Conwyaw mapping of 3d models.jpg
Conwyaw mapping of 3d models.jpg (247.42 KiB) Viewed 1032 times
Conwyaw mapping of 3d models 2.jpg
Conwyaw mapping of 3d models 2.jpg (122.86 KiB) Viewed 1032 times
Conwyaw mapping of 3d models 1.jpg
Conwyaw mapping of 3d models 1.jpg (176.52 KiB) Viewed 1032 times

gbtrains
Posts: 302
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 6:21 pm

Re: Conway and the Bridges

Post by gbtrains »

Hi T Gauge people

I have re done the Conway Rail Bridge so that you can get to the track for maintaince and derailments.

please check out the pics. :lol:


regards
Graham
Attachments
conway Rail Bridge correction (4).JPG
conway Rail Bridge correction (4).JPG (1.39 MiB) Viewed 1032 times
conway Rail Bridge correction (4).JPG
conway Rail Bridge correction (4).JPG (1.39 MiB) Viewed 1032 times
conway Rail Bridge correction (3).JPG
conway Rail Bridge correction (3).JPG (1.5 MiB) Viewed 1032 times
conway Rail Bridge correction (2).JPG
conway Rail Bridge correction (2).JPG (1.56 MiB) Viewed 1032 times
conway Rail Bridge correction (1).JPG
conway Rail Bridge correction (1).JPG (1.43 MiB) Viewed 1032 times

User avatar
Nutter
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: S E London

Re: Conway and the Bridges

Post by Nutter »

Looks good, :D
Mike
DON'T knock it at least I am trying to do something, with only one good hand.

gbtrains
Posts: 302
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 6:21 pm

Re: Conway and the Bridges

Post by gbtrains »

thanks for that.

i have started on the castle as well .
please check these pics out on progress of building.



regards
Graham :)
Attachments
Conway Castle  02.jpg
Conway Castle 02.jpg (210.72 KiB) Viewed 1032 times
Conway Castle  01.jpg
Conway Castle 01.jpg (150.33 KiB) Viewed 1032 times
Conway Castle  00.jpg
Conway Castle 00.jpg (32.31 KiB) Viewed 11161 times

gbtrains
Posts: 302
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 6:21 pm

Re: Conway and the Bridges

Post by gbtrains »

Hi All

Just another update.

I have started printing out my 3d print of the Conway Castle. This is the front part of the castle as I cannot print it all in one go. :lol:


Regards
Graham
Attachments
Conway Castle 3d model-02.JPG
Conway Castle 3d model-02.JPG (1.6 MiB) Viewed 1032 times
Conway Castle 3d model-01.JPG
Conway Castle 3d model-01.JPG (1.72 MiB) Viewed 1032 times

gbtrains
Posts: 302
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 6:21 pm

Re: Conway and the Bridges

Post by gbtrains »

Hi all
Another update
Done full structure of Castle now

Please take a look at pics. :D :D

ps did castle too small would you believe :o
So redoing it all to T gauge ,only trouble it is going to be a long while for 3d printer to print it all out.

Graham
Attachments
Conway Castle 3d model-05.JPG
Conway Castle 3d model-05.JPG (1.43 MiB) Viewed 1032 times
Conway Castle 3d model-04.JPG
Conway Castle 3d model-04.JPG (1.53 MiB) Viewed 1032 times
Conway Castle 3d model-03.JPG
Conway Castle 3d model-03.JPG (1.77 MiB) Viewed 1032 times

User avatar
Nutter
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: S E London

Re: Conway and the Bridges

Post by Nutter »

oopps what scale did you print the castle at? :roll:
Mike
DON'T knock it at least I am trying to do something, with only one good hand.

Post Reply