Chemin de Fer Trois

Post details of your T gauge layouts and the progress you are making.
Post Reply
User avatar
Nutter
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: S E London

Chemin de Fer Trois

Post by Nutter »

Having built my diorama this thread is going to be dedicated to the proper layout.
Progress will initially be slow because I keep changing my mind about the track plan.
Following Noel/Billiard's points modifications I am doing the same to mine.
Mike
DON'T knock it at least I am trying to do something, with only one good hand.

User avatar
Nutter
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: S E London

Re: Chemin de Fer Trois

Post by Nutter »

Track now cut ready to fix down. Points modified and it will be a basic oval with 2 sidings.
Just need to decide how to fix the flexible track down to the foam board.
Need to get more rail joiners and experiment with soldering wires to them.
Mike
DON'T knock it at least I am trying to do something, with only one good hand.

User avatar
Nutter
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: S E London

Re: Chemin de Fer Trois

Post by Nutter »

Track plan may be subject to change again, now have 3 points and am currently modifying flexi track joiners for power feeds
Mike
DON'T knock it at least I am trying to do something, with only one good hand.

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 1268
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 9:43 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK

Re: Chemin de Fer Trois

Post by dkightley »

I'll be interested in how you get on with attaching wires to flexi connectors. I need to do the same for The Bridge.
Doug Kightley
Webmaster here and volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk

User avatar
Nutter
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: S E London

Re: Chemin de Fer Trois

Post by Nutter »

Have a second pack to do and will photo document the process when I start then.
Mike
DON'T knock it at least I am trying to do something, with only one good hand.

Reith01
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 3:34 pm
Location: Sussex.

Re: Chemin de Fer Trois

Post by Reith01 »

dkightley wrote:I'll be interested in how you get on with attaching wires to flexi connectors. I need to do the same for The Bridge.
It seems a lot more secure than relying on Eishindo's flex power connector joints. As a newbie I bought a couple.
One broke - the soldering is ok but the "cable" broke at the joint. It's about 4 strands x.01mm.

Useless. It meant ripping out a piece of track which, stuck down with cyano, meant trouble. I soldered leads to the replacement track direct, a couple of sleepers lost but....that's the way it is.

User avatar
Nutter
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: S E London

Re: Chemin de Fer Trois

Post by Nutter »

Things are now progressing slowly.track almost laid, then wiring and a spell of testing
Mike
DON'T knock it at least I am trying to do something, with only one good hand.

User avatar
Nutter
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: S E London

Re: Chemin de Fer Trois

Post by Nutter »

Scrap this idea, can't get on with the flex track joiners, just don't hold the track with reliable enough power feeds.
Going to go back to a different idea using the set track pieces and no points.
Mike
DON'T knock it at least I am trying to do something, with only one good hand.

Post Reply