T Gauge based Zm Layout

Post details of your T gauge layouts and the progress you are making.
User avatar
Nutter
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: S E London

Re: T Gauge based Zm Layout

Post by Nutter »

dkightley wrote:.....and THWAKKK!!!.

Ivan now has a copy of the local freebie newspaper embedded in his eye socket! :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
More likely the free junk mail that seems to be put through ours every day.
Mike
DON'T knock it at least I am trying to do something, with only one good hand.

User avatar
Nutter
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: S E London

Re: T Gauge based Zm Layout

Post by Nutter »

My bits arrived from Alan this morning so the Diorama now has track laid and picture will be posted tomorrow.
Mike
DON'T knock it at least I am trying to do something, with only one good hand.

User avatar
Nutter
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: S E London

Re: T Gauge based Zm Layout

Post by Nutter »

Image
Mike
DON'T knock it at least I am trying to do something, with only one good hand.

User avatar
Nutter
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: S E London

Re: T Gauge based Zm Layout

Post by Nutter »

Not a perfect picture but shows the trees and phone poles.
Image
Image

Before and after cables fitted.
Mike
DON'T knock it at least I am trying to do something, with only one good hand.

User avatar
Nutter
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: S E London

Re: T Gauge based Zm Layout

Post by Nutter »

More detail now added and will post photo's as soon as I have taken them.

Need to think of a name for it.
Mike
DON'T knock it at least I am trying to do something, with only one good hand.

User avatar
Nutter
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: S E London

Re: T Gauge based Zm Layout

Post by Nutter »

Image
Image
Image
Image
Mike
DON'T knock it at least I am trying to do something, with only one good hand.

ivanf
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 7:35 pm
Contact:

Re: T Gauge based Zm Layout

Post by ivanf »

coming along very nicely Mike.. :)

User avatar
Nutter
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: S E London

Pas de Trois T Gauge based Zm Layout

Post by Nutter »

Title now modified as I have settled on a name :D
Mike
DON'T knock it at least I am trying to do something, with only one good hand.

mattinair
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 10:02 pm
Location: Sebastopol California

Re: T Gauge based Zm Layout

Post by mattinair »

Love your work.....a real work of art......

User avatar
Nutter
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: S E London

Re: T Gauge based Zm Layout

Post by Nutter »

Image
One of several shots I tried in Sepia to see what they looked like.
Mike
DON'T knock it at least I am trying to do something, with only one good hand.

msimister
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2015 6:18 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: T Gauge based Zm Layout

Post by msimister »

Looks really good. What have you used for your telegraph wires? Has anyone tried human hair?
Cheers,
Malcolm

User avatar
Nutter
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: S E London

Pas de Trois Zm on T track

Post by Nutter »

Malcolm the wires are done with EZ Line.
Mike
DON'T knock it at least I am trying to do something, with only one good hand.

User avatar
Nutter
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: S E London

Re: T Gauge based Zm Layout

Post by Nutter »

Back in the zone , ready to start the layout again.
Mike
DON'T knock it at least I am trying to do something, with only one good hand.

clives
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 9:12 am

Re: T Gauge based Zm Layout

Post by clives »

msimister wrote:Looks really good. What have you used for your telegraph wires? Has anyone tried human hair?
Cheers,
Malcolm
Referring to telegraph wires..I was looking at the 'Stretchy' wire on the Tgauge.com site.....I see this is quoted at 0.005mm diameter.....this is too small surely and only equates ( using 1:450 ) to 2.25mm prototypical. This is too small for telegraph wires, let alone overhead catenary. Is there a reason for this, like it doesn't look right if to correct scale ?.
I'm basing my thoughts on telegraph wires being around 6 to 8mm thick ..which should be 0.013mm + .

Clive

clives
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 9:12 am

Re: T Gauge based Zm Layout

Post by clives »

Answering my own question here.. after a lot of Googling I discovered that BR and GPO wires were generally about 3mm diameter....so the Stretchy stuff is about right for telegraph wires. Will have to order some when back in stock....but will go for the black colour....only need about 24 ft of the stuff...so a reel should keep me going for a while !.

Cheers
Clive


Referring to telegraph wires..I was looking at the 'Stretchy' wire on the Tgauge.com site.....I see this is quoted at 0.005mm diameter.....this is too small surely and only equates ( using 1:450 ) to 2.25mm prototypical. This is too small for telegraph wires, let alone overhead catenary. Is there a reason for this, like it doesn't look right if to correct scale ?.
I'm basing my thoughts on telegraph wires being around 6 to 8mm thick ..which should be 0.013mm + .

Clive[/quote]

User avatar
Nutter
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: S E London

Re: T Gauge based Zm Layout

Post by Nutter »

Clive the line I use is the EZline fine which according to their website is 0.25mm dia.
Mike
DON'T knock it at least I am trying to do something, with only one good hand.

User avatar
Nutter
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: S E London

Re: T Gauge based Zm Layout

Post by Nutter »

Not a lot to report at present, apart from writing the first 2 idiots guides model railways are taking a back seat to model railways at least until the far end of October
Mike
DON'T knock it at least I am trying to do something, with only one good hand.

User avatar
Nutter
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: S E London

Re: T Gauge based Zm Layout

Post by Nutter »

Things are slowly starting to move again, have just ordered some 6mm wargame models- buildings, figures and vehicles to see how they look. What I have done is buy 2 or 3 items from different suppliers to compare the quality and actual sizes.
Once received they will be compared with existing products that I have which work.
The Timecast buildings are very successful but looking at others from ranges covering Europe especially France, Belgium and possibly Spain.
Mike
DON'T knock it at least I am trying to do something, with only one good hand.

martink
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 3:13 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: T Gauge based Zm Layout

Post by martink »

6mm wargame stuff? Hmmm. That 6mm size number generally refers to a human figure's eye height, typically 5 feet or thereabouts, so happens to be roughly the same as the track gauge for a model railway scale. So 6mm works out to about Z gauge, while 3mm figures and models are more appropriate for T. And alas, there isn't much 3mm stuff available. On the other hand, it all depends on what you have ordered - the exact scale may not matter too much.

User avatar
Nutter
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: S E London

Re: T Gauge based Zm Layout

Post by Nutter »

martink wrote:6mm wargame stuff? Hmmm. That 6mm size number generally refers to a human figure's eye height, typically 5 feet or thereabouts, so happens to be roughly the same as the track gauge for a model railway scale. So 6mm works out to about Z gauge, while 3mm figures and models are more appropriate for T. And alas, there isn't much 3mm stuff available. On the other hand, it all depends on what you have ordered - the exact scale may not matter too much.
Buildings being slightly undersize actually does not look too bad. Waiting on the vehicles and people.
6mm wargame horses are actually very good for Z scale wagons, have a couple that I have used in the past.
Mike
DON'T knock it at least I am trying to do something, with only one good hand.

Post Reply