Page 1 of 1

Isolating tracks.

Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2021 7:32 pm
by DavidTheMad
I hope someone can help me out with some tips on wiring the track. I want to have all 6 tracks in my fiddle yard capable of being switched individually yet my brain can't work out whether it is safe to use the Straight Isolating Track (R-030) with the risks entailed in soldering to those tracks, or whether it is to attempt to make the points as "dead frogs" types and then use switches to get the power through them? Hope you can help me.

David

Re: Isolating tracks.

Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2021 11:08 pm
by DavidTheMad
The plan is to have 3 tracks running clockwise and 3 tracks running counter-clockwise, giving a choice between 6 trains to run on the main lines.

And I have FINALLY modified one of the old DC beige controllers into a PWM with a return delay of 25 seconds rather than the standard 5 seconds. I am hoping this will add a bit more realism on the end to end lines.

If it all works out I will have 4 trains running independently at any one time!

Cheers

David

Re: Isolating tracks.

Posted: Thu Feb 04, 2021 6:31 pm
by DavidTheMad
Is there really no one who is willing to help me out? Really?

Re: Isolating tracks.

Posted: Thu Feb 04, 2021 9:28 pm
by kajovog
Hi David.

I don't think you haven't gotten a response because no one wants to help you. I would guess that no one has tried to do what you're attempting. I have been doing T for about 4 years and have been active on this forum since then. I have not tried anything like this, and I can't recall I've seen anyone else either. Most of the time people here answer when they feel they know what they are talking about ;)

Re: Isolating tracks.

Posted: Fri Feb 05, 2021 12:20 am
by kajovog
I re-read your questions again and may be able to give some advice.

1. You ask: “… safe to use the Straight Isolating Track (R-030) with the risks entailed in soldering to those tracks…”.

I have used isolating tracks and they work, but I have never soldered them. I am not sure what you mean by “safe”. When I have separated into “blocks” I have used power tracks like [R-036] and it has for sure isolated the tracks. I assume you can solder power wires to the tracks, I have just never done that on the sectional tracks.

2. “…. points as "dead frogs" types…”. From my perspective, the T Gauge switches are already “half dead” :-) because the frog is plastic. I think what you are suggesting is that you isolate the tracks by using a dead frog (which you already have) and then maybe cut the “outside rails” to isolate them? I don’t think that would work since you pick up power from both wheel sets.

Again, not sure this is what you are really asking about.

Re: Isolating tracks.

Posted: Sat Feb 06, 2021 8:10 pm
by DavidTheMad
Hi,
I think I am moving towards using the isolating tracks on all 6 of the sidings, with the isolation being controlled by micro-switches. However, I really can't see any way of avoiding the use of a soldering iron.
It will have to be pretty easy!! I currently have 3 x 9-car sets of the British Rail HST 125s, I x GNER 9-car set, I ICE 3 9-car set, and the LNER 4-car set. Add to that my 2 and 4 car sets of DMUs for local traffic, and awaiting a further 9-car set of the BR livery which will be a special train project. And then on top of that, I have steam trains with period carriages, shunters and a whole load of freight trains as well.
I am toying with the idea of a spur line that will lead to a further fiddle yard holding all the spare traffic.

Thank you for your responses. It is much appreciated.

Re: Isolating tracks.

Posted: Sat Feb 06, 2021 10:58 pm
by kajovog
Very interesting project, please keep us updated.

Re: Isolating tracks.

Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2021 3:58 am
by DavidTheMad
I will do that. I am preparing a post on how I've dealt with the rigid track so they don't look lifeless. The picture is taken of the progression, so all I have to do is reduce its size and then copy/paste the procedure.

Cheers for now.

Re: Isolating tracks.

Posted: Sun Mar 07, 2021 5:11 am
by DavidTheMad
I have given up on the idea of isolating the tracks. It will be more expensive, but it is only one layout so I am going to go DCC! Now to cost it...........

David