Rhaetian Railway (Rhatische Bahn) in T-gauge? help 4 newbie

The place for general discussions and requests for help on all matters relating to T gauge.
tjejojyj

Rhaetian Railway (Rhatische Bahn) in T-gauge? help 4 newbie

Post by tjejojyj »

Hello,

After a long hiatus I am drawn by the siren song of model railroading. My background is in HO but given I now live in a flat I thought about a 'coffee table' layout and was initial drawn to the Kato N-gauge 1:150 Rhaetian Railway rolling stock which can handle a 150mm radius curve.

However I have been inspired by T-gauge in general and this discussion group in particular. It seems to me you get more "railway" for about the same money and it might genuinely fit within the extents of my coffee table.

Below is a screen grab of the design I have worked on in Sketchup. The minimum radius is about 190mm with 4% gradients and the whole thing is about 532mm x 1072mm (21" x 42"). There is large depression in the middle of the layout so I can get very tall bridges and viaducts in a tight space.

Operationally I would like to have some level of automation with one possible "timetable" having two trains running in opposite directions passing each in the two stations. The design also effectively forms a long continuous loop (I can post a separate image of just the track bed if this is any help).

My questions:
- Is this layout viable in t-gauge and worth pursuing?
- Is there a problem with a lot of long tunnels? (I was imagining trying to make the scenery as a shell so they tunnels would be in the void underneath). Not sure yet how I would support all the track there.
- Technically the exact scale would be 1:333. Doesn't any one else pursue true scale at this size?
- Is having trains start, slow and stop realistic?

I'm only at the initial stages and enjoying the designing right now but I would be thankful for any thoughts.

With the greatest of respect and admiration,
Tim J.
Sketchup design for model railway