Board index Talking T Gauge Forum T Gauge Layouts

Post details of your T gauge layouts and the progress you are making.

Making a go of it

Postby Reith01 » Sun Sep 13, 2015 4:02 pm

This is a very modest layout compared to many here but one has to start somewhere. Measures 6' x 2'10" in the form of a folded 8.

This one is putting on styrene foam cut from bits used to pack domestic electronics.

Below: Most of the modroc-ing/plaster is done. The track to the front will be lifted tomorrow to take advantage of
nutter's tip on isolating at the points. It's going to save cutting the track. As pieces of track are wired separately,
connection is no problem.

Well, I cross my fingers. The track has got somewhat dirty but at least I know it forms a continuous circuit.

As a beginner I'll report problems and how I try to solve them, and will always be grateful for advice.
I have no 3D printer so buildings and bridges have to be made from wood, card/styrene sheet and DAS pronto. They'll take time no doubt.

Cheers,
Reith.
Last edited by Reith01 on Sun Sep 13, 2015 4:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reith01

Re: Making a go of it

Postby SmallCentral » Sun Sep 13, 2015 4:23 pm

Superb work .
SmallCentral

Postby mattd10 » Sun Sep 13, 2015 6:49 pm

6' by 2'10 is anything but modest! Any chance of a track plan?

Look forward to following this!
mattd10

Postby rvn2001 » Sun Sep 13, 2015 7:45 pm

That's bigger than my 5' x 14" layout. It looks like you're making good progress on it. I'm looking forward to seeing more of it.
Thom Welsch
rvn2001

Postby Reith01 » Wed Sep 16, 2015 3:02 pm

Crikey, I got the dimensions wrong. It's 6ft x 1ft 10.

I hope I do better with measuring when it gets down to buildings, roads and things....!

I did most of the basic wiring under the board today, now awaiting a couple of points for the sidings.